Transparency - The Council

Our Vision

Graphic from corporate plan

The Isle of Wight Council is located on the Isle of Wight near the south coast of England. The council is responsible for virtually all local government activities on the Island.

The Isle of Wight Council was created in 1995 as a unitary or all-purpose authority, covering the Isle of Wight. It replaced the former Isle of Wight County Council and the two borough councils of Medina and South Wight.

It is made up of 40 councillors. The Isle of Wight Council is made up of 39 areas, which are known as electoral divisions, 38 return a single representative to the council, and one (Brading, St Helens and Bembridge) returns two representatives. Those elected are often known as members or councillors.

Learn more about how our council works.

Our Island

Learn more about the Isle of Wight and all it has to offer on the Visit Isle of Wight tourism website.

Our vision

“Is for the Isle of Wight to be an inspiring place in which to grow up, work, live and visit.”

If you were to ask anyone why they relocated to the Isle of Wight, they would all have a different reason. What drew them here? What made them stay? Everyone’s circumstances are different but one fundamental factor will entwine every story; the Isle of Wight is a beautiful, calm, interesting and inspiring place to be.

While we love the tranquil surroundings, we are an innovative, forward thinking and dynamic council. We trust in our staff to make a difference on the Isle of Wight and we want people to join us who share those values.

The council has in place an ambitious corporate plan (insert link) with a vision for the ‘Isle of Wight to be an inspiring place in which to grow up, work, live and visit’. At its heart, the plan commits to:

  • Create opportunities for all
  • Deliver economic growth and prosperity
  • Preserve our environment
  • Protect our community
  • Plan for our future needs
  • Provide sound financial management

We are making great strides and our outlook is very much onward and upward. The opportunities ahead of us are vast and you could be a part of one of our fantastic teams to continue to make our home a great place to grow up, live, work and visit.

Working for the council means being a real part of our community, delivering services that people want and need and being at the heart of the Island’s future.

John Metcalfe – Chief Executive of the Isle of Wight Council

Isle of Wight Council Corporate Plan (2019-2022)

Please view our Corporate Plan 2019-2022 to discover how we intend to achieve our vision for the Island over the next ten years.  We will be focusing on growth, regeneration, opportunity, wellbeing and have set 12 outcomes to realise this vision.

Isle of Wight Council Annual report 2019-20

Please view our Annual report 2019-20 to discover a summary of the council’s activity during the past year (April 2019 to March 2020) and learn how we are working together to provide a financially balanced and sustainable council on behalf of the Isle of Wight community.