Blue Badges

Who Can Get One

From 30 August 2019, the government has introduced new criteria for Blue Badge applications in England. Applicants with non-visible (hidden) disabilities/conditions may now be eligible for a Blue Badge. Due to the nature of non-visible (hidden) conditions, applications will be assessed by looking at an individual applicant’s needs.


While the new criteria will give clear and consistent guidelines on Blue Badge eligibility for the whole of England, not everyone with non-visible disabilities will qualify for a badge.

You automatically qualify if:

  • you receive higher rate mobility component of Disability Living Allowance;

  • or you receive War Pensioner's Mobility Supplement;

  • or you receive Armed Forces Compensation Scheme (AFCS) award, tariffs 1-8 and have been assessed by the Service Personnel and Veterans Agency (SPVA) as having a permanent and substantial disability that causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty walking;

  • or you are registered as blind (severely sight impaired) under the National Assistance Act 1948 (partially sighted people do not automatically qualify);

  • you receive 8 points or more under the “moving around” activity of the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP).

  • You receive 10 points under descriptor E of the “planning and following journeys” activity of the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP)


    You may qualify if:

  • you have a child under 3 years old and need to transport bulky medical equipment for urgent treatment, or always be near a vehicle so they can be treated or driven to a place for treatment for a permanent illness;

  • or you drive a vehicle regularly, have a severe disability in both arms and can't work or have considerable difficulty working parking meters;

  • or have an enduring and substantial disability which affects your mobility and means you have very considerable difficulty in walking;

  • or have an enduring and substantial disability whilst walking which may include psychological distress or is at risk of serious harm to themselves or another person;

  • or have a terminal illness, which means you cannot walk or find walking very difficult and have a DS1500 form.


    You do not qualify if:


  • Your condition does not impact your mobility, or you have a temporary condition such as a broken leg.

  • In all cases, entitlement depends on the applicant’s difficulty when walking, and considerations such as difficulty carrying parcels or luggage are not to be taken into account

  • Applicants are unlikely to qualify if the presence of someone supporting them negates the risk and reduces or prevents the psychological distress caused.


          You can also check whether you are eligible for a Blue Badge in the first section of the online application form. Click here