The Isle of Wight Local Authority has a 2-tier system of schools with 49 local authority maintained schools or academies which are made up as follows:

  • 39 primary schools (for pupils aged 4 to 11);
  • 6 secondary schools (for pupils aged 11 to 19);
  • 1 all-through school (for pupils aged 4 to 16); 

  • 2 mixed-sex special schools (one for primary aged pupils, and one for secondary aged and sixth form pupils);
  • 1 Pupil Referral Unit (for pupils aged 4 to 16).


Location Maps

View the mapped locations of primary schools  on the Island.

View the mapped locations of secondary schools on the Island please.