04 Jun 2019 Last updated at 08:00

Boundary recommendations announced

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for the Isle of Wight Council.

It follows three phases of public consultation and draws new boundaries for each council division across the Island.

The boundaries of 30 current council divisions will change as a result of the review.

The commission’s final recommendations propose that the Island should be represented by 39 councillors in the future: one fewer than the current arrangement.

The recommendations also propose that those councillors should represent 39 one-councillor divisions across the Island.

Subject to Parliamentary implementation the new arrangements will come into effect for the next council elections in 2021.

'Fairness for voters'

Professor Colin Mellors, chair of the commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across the Isle of Wight who took part in the review. The commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Isle of Wight.”

The commission published draft proposals for new divisions in September 2018. In response to local feedback on the plans, the commission made major changes to the proposals in some parts of the Island and held an extra phase of consultation on them earlier this year.

In the west of the Island, the commission changed its original recommendations so that the shopping area around Avenue Road would be part of a Freshwater division rather than Totland as previously proposed.

The commission also changed its proposals so that the area of Colwell would be part of the Totland division rather than Freshwater as previously proposed.

In Ryde, the commission clarified its proposal for the boundary between Ryde North East and Ryde South East divisions so that it would run along West Hill Road and Park Road.

In the south of Island, the commission originally proposed a Ventnor and Wroxall division to cover both communities in an area that would be represented by two councillors. The commission listened to local objections regarding its draft recommendations and put forward a new plan for two divisions, each to be represented by one councillor.

Following the latest phase of consultation, the commission confirmed all the changes it previously proposed as final.

Name changes

Elsewhere on the Island, the commission has changed the names of several divisions in response to local views as well as making boundary changes to divisions in light of evidence put forward by local people and organisations. For example, in the Bay area, the commission has decided to change its draft recommendations in favour of a pattern of divisions that is largely the same as the current arrangements.

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the commission’s website at www.lgbce.org.uk

The proposed new arrangements must now be implemented by Parliament. A draft order – the legal document which brings into force the recommendations – will be laid in Parliament in the coming months. The draft order provides for the new electoral arrangements to come into force at the council elections in 2021.

Share On
Share with MySpace Share with Google Plus Share with Yahoo Share with Twitter Share with Facebook
Related Services
Most Read
Most Shared
The changes are subject to Parliamentary implementation
The changes are subject to Parliamentary implementation
  • The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is responsible for reviewing local authority electoral arrangements.
  • Full details of the commission’s final recommendations (including maps) can be viewed at: http://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/south-east/isle-of-wight/isle-of-wight. Or: https://consultation.lgbce.org
Isle of Wight, UK