Education, Attainment and Children’s Health

Partnership for Education, Attainment and Children’s Health (PEACH)

Public Health colleagues have worked in partnership with the Island’s Executive Head-teacher Group. This group brings together key stakeholders to co-produce and develop a new ‘whole-school’ framework.

This framework for Island primary schools and builds from the previous ‘National Healthy Schools Award’.

It focuses on four domains:

  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic education.
  • Emotional Wellbeing and Mental Health.
  • Physical Activity.
  • Healthy Eating.

The four domains form a ‘self-assessment’ matrix. The matrix supports schools in identifying areas for improvement and informing their curriculum planning.

Within each domain, a set of key criteria are outlined and fulfilment of these will align with a three-tier awarding system. This three-tier system; Bronze, Silver and Gold, correlates with Ofsted standards. It provides recognition to schools meeting the health and wellbeing requirements associated with improving pupil attainment and behaviour.

List of current Bronze awarded schools

  • Brading CE Primary
  • Carisbrooke CE Primary
  • Dover Park Primary
  • Gatten and Lake Primary
  • Gurnard Primary
  • Hunnyhill Primary
  • Lanesend Primary
  • Nettlestone Primary
  • Newchurch Primary
  • Newport CE Primary
  • Nine Acres Primary
  • Niton Primary
  • Queensgate Foundation Primary
  • Shalfleet CE Primary
  • St Francis Primary
  • St Helens Primary
  • St Mary’s Catholic Primary
  • St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Primary
  • The Bay CE Primary
  • Yarmouth CE Primary
  • Medina House School
  • IWEF: Carisbrooke College and Medina College